top of page

What to expect at your newborn session.

Your precious newborn has changed your life, and you want to capture the fleeting beauty of this moment. If this is your first newborn session, let me describe the experience to put you at ease.


Scheduling. 

Newborn sessions are generally scheduled within the first two weeks after baby is born. We prefer days 7-20 days. Please do not stress if for some reason you cannot make this window – I have been photographing newborns for years, and have successfully achieved newborn images with some babies up to 5 weeks. I recommend scheduling as soon as possible – but also understand some babies need a little more time at the hospital! Sessions are held at my studio in Alexandria, VA.


Safety/Germs.

Please know that NOTHING is more important to me than the health and safety of a newborn. My studio is cleaned and sanitized daily. My hands are washed and sanitized before I ever touch your newborn. If I am sick I will reschedule your session – I will never risk exposing a newborn to germs. My safety practices have been in place for years, and I never deviate from them.


Keep baby awake before your session. 

Please try to keep baby awake for the 2 hours before your session. I suggest keeping baby awake with interaction, keep baby a little cooler than normal (not cold of course – but not so warm and cozy they doze off), try a bath as well – that will keep baby awake and will make them nice and tired. I understand newborns ALWAYS fall asleep in the car seat on the way over – please do not worry about this.


Outfits for baby.

I provide all outfits, hats, wraps, etc. for your session. Please dress baby in something that is easy to remove. Ideally an outfit that zips or buttons down the front versus something that needs to be removed over their head. Please put baby’s diaper on a little looser than you normally would right before putting them in the carseat.


Feeding. 

If you will be exclusively breastfeeding your baby we recommend being mindful of what you are eating and drinking for at least 24 hours prior to your session. While all babies tolerate things differently it is just a good idea to keep this in mind before your session. Some common foods that cause problems for baby are broccoli, spicy foods, cauliflower, etc. If you are breastfeeding please try to bring an extra bottle of pumped milk in case baby needs an additional feed. If you are bottle feeding please bring plenty of extra milk to the session in case baby eats a little more than usual!


Feeding your baby. 

If you are able to feed your baby fully right before coming to the session that is ideal. Then I can get started immediately creating your beautiful images. However, you are welcome to breast or bottlefeed in the studio at any time that baby needs to.


Timing. 

Newborn sessions can be unpredictable. Your session can take two to three hours. If you have siblings joining for photos, I ask you to please have dad/mom come in separate cars so that one parent can leave with the siblings after the family photos – it is just too much to ask of little ones to sit in a warm studio for 2 hours watching baby take photos!


Food.

I provide granola bars, crackers, pretzels, kind bars and drinks in my studio. If you would like something more substantial feel free to bring it along.


Pacifier

If you are comfortable with your baby using a pacifier (just for a few minutes to get an image) then please bring several! Many babies need a pacifier for a minute or two to settle into a pose, and it can be a miracle worker when we need a shot and baby isn’t settled. I completely respect your wishes if you do not wish to use one – just know it will only be used for a tiny window, if at all.


Sit back, relax, and enjoy your session. Join me in oohing and aahing over your squishly little one in sweet poses.

1,118 views
bottom of page